Still life

It’s important to say that I would not have been able to produce these images without the help of many stellar friends: Sarah, Matt, Coach and Claire.  It was so helpful to be able to bounce ideas off each other including placement, backdrop, length of lens and most importantly lighting techniques.

You can really loose track of time while your in the studio.  After spending a few hours on the setup, it was time to add the honey.  At first I was only getting drops and I wanted a solid stream of liquid gold; so of course, we added more to the pot.  I decided on my second set of china, the first set was a white tea pot with flowers and a coordinating cup and saucer.  We really wanted the pot to be back lit with the front having little detail except for around the edges.  With the white pot, the body reflected more light and was harder to get the effect that we received with the blue pot.

When we finished with my concept and moved onto Matt’s then Sarah’s, I wasn’t thrilled with what I had shot so with extra time at the end I wanted to give it a second go.  Sarah did the same and we both were much happier!  It took some time but was so worth it.  If you have an idea and you aren’t getting what you imagined, keep working it and moving things around until it’s what Kent would call “poetry”.  I am very thrilled with my outcome and I hope to some it is poetry.

As the honey takes it's time pouring into the tea cup it resembles that with life, we need to remind ourselves to slow down.
As the honey takes it’s time pouring into the tea cup it resembles that with life, we need to remind ourselves to slow down.
still life 23
As the honey takes it’s time pouring into the tea cup it resembles that with life, we need to remind ourselves to slow down.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 2.55.17 AM

Camera settings: Lens: 200 mm, aperture: 14, shutter Speed: 1/160, ISO: 100

image1

Leave a Reply

